“JJ Tutorial – Part 1 – Making The Covers”

Hi There,

I am making a new journal and I was asked by Alicia to create a Step By Step Tutorial to go with it, for a lovely group of ladies, that are in Papercraft Secrets group on FaceBook. If you don’t know my favorite color is Blue and that is the theme of this one ๐Ÿ™‚ย  A Junk Journal can be used for many things like a memory book, an art journal, a recipe book, for keeping ephemera like tickets, postcards, receipts, their uses are limitless!!!

I hope you enjoy my step by step and you might like to play along to……………..The first thing you need will be a few things from your craft stash to make it which is listed below………..

We are going to use cereal or some sort of box/cardboard that already has a spine. You can also use a book cover with its pages removed. I like the softness of the cereal box but a harder cover is great also. If you are new to making them I would start small for your first one to get the hang of it, but that is up o you. A good size is 5×7 or 6×8 to start with, but you can be adventurous if you like!ย  I am partial to large journals with big spines, like the one I am showing you here.

SUPPLIES NEEDED FOR COVER

You only need basic items like scissors or a cutter, double-sided tape or glue, your box, and some extra cardboard or chipboard to make the covers. I like to use the backing of paper pads, which is still a good strenth but not too stiff. For the spine, I like to use the chipboard as it supports the pages inside.

 

junk 2

STEP 1 –ย  ย Open the box up by cutting one edge, then you can either glue the tabs up or cut them off. I like to cut them off then use my cutter or ruler and blade on my cutting mat, to get a nice straight edge. Cut it down to the size that you are comfortable with. The spine on my box is quite large but a smaller box will, of course, give you a smaller spine. Depends on how many pages you want in your journal to play with ๐Ÿ™‚

junk 1

Now you have the cover measured and cut you can cut some light chipboard/card to a smidge smaller than the size of your covers. don’t forget your spine piece!

My covers are 8×10, but I may cut them down a smidge yet. I cut my extra cardboard a 1/4 of an inch smaller.

 

20190809_205646(0)

STEP 2 –ย  Next you need to glue on the extra pieces you are using to strength your journal ๐Ÿ™‚ I like using double-sided oh so sticky tape that I get from Craft Online. It is the best I have found so far ๐Ÿ™‚

Use the double-sided tape then go over with a glue stick. Just make sure you leave a little bit of a gap and donโ€™t put the edge of the chipboard right up against the spine as you will need a little room for it to open and close. I always do the covers and the spine by cutting them a little smaller than what you made the covers.

 

cover 1

STEP 3 – This step is to strengthen your covers a little with some cloth or duct tape. I get mine at Bunnings. You could also use fabric, etc. You can use whatever color suits your journal. I know you can get printed ones also. I like either white or black for my journals.

cover 2cover 3

I use my craft mat to lay it on, but a non-stick surface is great too. I just add lengths of the tape to cover the spine and where it folds. I make the tape longer than needed and then it gets folded over on the other side.

cover 4

Fold the tape around the edges as shown above and make sure it’s well adhered.

cover 6

Now add tape on this side over what was there down the spine and make sure it’s stuck down well.

cover 1

I like to put some tape on my corners so they don’t get torn or roughed up with handling. I just put a piece like this then cut across the corner to make a triangle. I then fold the pieces into the inside of the cover.

cover 7

This creates a nice clean looking corner. If you want you can go along each of the edges of your journal to protect them. I have done this on most of my other journals.

cover 8

Now, your cover will look like this and be nice and sturdy. It doesnโ€™t matter what it looks like as you will be covering it up and embellishing it.ย  You can see the spine on this one is about 3″ wide as I like a chunky journal ๐Ÿ™‚ย  I hope you are enjoying my Tutorial so far ๐Ÿ™‚

Stay Tuned for Part 2 which will be up tomorrow for you.

Happy Junking

Kerri x

 

“Recipe/Memory Book”

Hello there,

I hope you are having a great Hump Day and getting some crafty time. I have worked this morning and been doing a desk tidy up. JJ has gone to work and I have had Cj around for the afternoon ๐Ÿ™‚

My latest project has been updating my Recipe /Memory Book. I have collected so many recipes from magazines I thought it was time to get them into my books. I was using a scrapbook album for this but as I need the album, I have gone to recipe binders and they have come up great. It’s a bit of a mixture of a memory album, glue book and junk journal all together ๐Ÿ™‚

rec 3

I used 4 of these cute binders I got awhile ago at Office works and changed my mind about using them for a project. I divided them up into the categories that I use for cooking and then I cut and paste the magazine clippings that I have collected.

rec 1

I made a special section for Gran’s Recipes, as I have a bit of a collection of what mum used to cook and bake for us all!

rec 5

I am also incorporating some photos and journaling in these Recipe/ Memory books for my boys.

rec 2

I had quite a lot of recipe cards already done so I just created a few pages like this so I can access them easily, as they flip up.

rec 4

Some I had written on other journaling cards and pieces of tea-dyed papers that I did a while ago. I added these in by taping the sides of the paper so the would open as above.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Above are a few more pics of how I set the pages up. I have used my Tab Punch for the dividers and a pocket in the front of each binder to hold clippings and cards. I like having pictures of the recipes for reference and I use my own photos of recipes I have made.

I hope you have enjoyed seeing this idea to organise your recipe and keep a record of special family ones also ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Recipe Hunting

Kerri x